sistawendy: me in the Mercury's alley with the wind catching my hair (smoldering windblown Merc alley)
Bus: downtown to get on...

Train: ...the 2 line to Redmond! I got on the very first train from Seattle to Redmond. That turned out to have been no mean feat because Sound Transit keep making people get off at ID/Chinatown and delaying that first train; I thought I was going to be hours after the first train, but neau. ID station was packed, and I was lucky to have gotten on a couple of stops to the north.

Judkins Park, the last station eastbound before the bridge? Packed, because Seattleites love trains. As the train rolled on I-90 over the only train tracks on a floating bridge in the world, there was a fireboat on Lake Washington spraying in celebration. Aw, yeah. And I sure hope lots of teens use the Mercer Island station to... get off Mercer Island.

Observations:
  • the Seattle stations look cooler than the Bellevue stations because of course they do.
  • Since it had been over a decade since I'd been to Bellevue, I'd forgotten how uppy and downy and marshy Bellevue is. So there are elevated stations, tunnels, curves, low speeds, and closely-spaced stations from South Bellevue to Overlake. Downtown Bellevue & Wilburton are right across I-405 from each other.
  • Wilburton is two blocks from Uwajimaya Bellevue, hell yeah.
  • Microsoft has a spiffy-looking covered pedestrian bridge over SR 520 next to "Redmond Technology" station. That's right, there's a light rail station that pretty much serves nothing but Microsoft.
  • For you concert-goers, there's a station right at Marymoor Park, which was a damn fine idea.
  • Good grief, there's been a lot of construction in Redmond and Bellevue since I moved away. It's still going on.
  • My excuse for going to Redmond? Coffee and a sandwich at Victor's.
  • I have once more at least passed through every station in Seattle's light rail network.
  • Did you ever notice how the synthesized announcements on the 1 line intoned "the 1 line" like "the one line that we have"? Well, no more! We have two! And they're connected! So there!
Next stop: Capitol Hill, for the No Kings march. (I almost typed "no kinks". Screw that.) Ran into MOOers! Arrived just in time to march from Cal Anderson Park to the Seattle Center.

On foot I saw: awesome signs, many hand-made. A group in orange jumpsuits with the cabinet's names on their backs. Hong Kong & Ukrainian flags. Trans & Queer Pride flags. Two Statue of Liberty costumes. Inflatable amphibians. Did not hang out for speechifying afterwards because I can still feel my feet throb, but I still walked the walk. On the bus home, I saw a succinctly winning sign: in big, purple letters, "NO."

And tonight? The Seattle Fetish Ball. And 0900 tomorrow? Brunch with my fellow trans volunqueers from Lambert House. And Monday? Pre-surgery doctor's appointments. I seem to have lost my damn marbles.

Profile

sistawendy: a head shot of me smiling, taken in front of Canlis for a 2021 KUOW article (Default)
sistawendy

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1 2 34 5 6 7
8 9 1011 1213 14
1516 17 1819 2021
222324 2526 27 28
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 06:13 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios